Clerks ... The Measure of Success
Welcome New Clerks!

The North Carolina Association of Municipal Clerks is accepting nominations for the "Clerk of the Year Award," an annual award presented to an outstanding North Carolina Clerk or Deputy Clerk at the NCAMC Summer Academy in August.

To be eligible, the nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Active Member of NCAMC for at least four years.
  • Brings innovative ideas to the Association.
  • Active in municipal, state and national associations.
  • Demonstrates commitment to professional development.
  • Demonstrates commitment to community involvement.
  • Extraordinary individual job performance.
  • Positive on-the-job attitude.

You do not have to be a Clerk to submit a nomination.  Nominations will be accepted and encouraged from Mayors, Supervisors, Presidents, Managers, Council Members, Board Members, Staff, etc.

Submissions must be mailed by June 1, 2018 to John Phelps, NCAMC, 150 Fayetteville Street, Suite 300, Raleigh, NC 27601 or via email to  The Clerk of the Year Nomination Form is available on the NCAMC website,

Prior "Clerk of the Year" recipients and NCAMC Officers are not eligible to receive the award.

Joyce Walker, Town of Lewisville, NCAMC 2018 Clerk of the Year


Joyce Walker, Town Clerk for Lewisville, was selected as the 2018 Clerk of the Year! Joyce has served Lewisville as Town Clerk for 18 years. Her manager describes her dedication to her work as “unmatched”. Joyce holds her NCCMC, CMC, MMC and a certificate from the National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators. Her dedication to the community runs much deeper than her job duties, as Joyce has held positions of leadership in groups such as: Lewisville Civic Club, Lewisville Historical Society, Girl Scouts of America and Boy Scouts of America. Joyce enjoys sewing, baking and cake decorating, bowling, and TV/movie trivia! She has been married for 55 years and has 2 children, 4 grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren. Joyce is an asset to the community of Lewisville and also to the North Carolina Association of Municipal Clerks. We congratulate Joyce on this much-deserved achievement! Joyce accepted the award at the association’s Summary Academy in Pinehurst and has served on several NCAMC Committees. These committees include:


NCAMC Program and Education Committee 2005-2011

NCAMC Constitution Review Committee 2012

NCAMC Video Conference Sub-committee 2012

NCAMC Program and Education Committee 2013 – present

NCAMC WSOS Committee 2016 – present

NCAMC Regional Academies Host 2010 and 2016

NCAMC Board 2018 - ___

Congratulations to Joyce Walker!

Past Clerks of the Year

Year Name Title Municipality




Joyce Walker, MMC; NCCMC, NAGARA

Sylvia Holleman, MMC; NCCMC

Betsey Richardson, MMC, NCCMC 

Town Clerk

Town Clerk

City Clerk

Town of Lewisville

Town of Wrightsville Beach

City of Greensboro

2015 Carmen K. Miracle, MMC, NCCMC City Clerk City of Jacksonville 
2014 Dora Moore, MMC, NCCMC Town Clerk Town of Rural Hall
2013 Jennifer Larson, CMC, NCCMC Town Clerk Town of Fairmont 
2012 Sue Rowland, MMC Retired Town Clerk Town of Cary  
2011 Angela G. Stadler, CMC, NCCMC City Clerk City of Reidsville