Welcome to the North Carolina Association of Municipal Clerks

SPOTLIGHT: Past Presidents Committee

Almost forty years ago, a group of visionary municipal clerks came together during a North Carolina League of Municipalities Annual Conference to discuss the need for a formal association for municipal clerks that promoted education and professional development. Shortly afterwards, the North Carolina Association of Municipal Clerks was established in 1975.

You may be wondering what that has to do with the Past President’s Committee. In 1975, there were no Past Presidents. The first available notation of the Past Presidents was in 1989 when then President Gail Smith of Raleigh appointed a new committee of Past Presidents chaired by Lois Worthington of Greenville. The Past Presidents were requested to create a mentor program for new clerks. The Past Presidents fulfilled the request and in the following year the “We Share Our Services” (WSOS) was created. Since then, the WSOS has evolved into a standing committee that continues in the mission of mentoring new clerks. 

Fast forwarding to present time, the Past Presidents committee is a standing committee and continues to be an active group that serves the President when called upon. Our membership is diverse with both active and retired clerks. The project requested by President Dale Martin of Kernersville was creating an orientation for those serving and being newly appointed to the board of directors and officers of our Association. Much like the project to create a mentor program for new clerks, this is an opportunity for the past presidents to share with those serving the Association as an officer or director the expectations and commitment for the position. This pilot program was presented at the 2014 August Annual Academy. 

The Past Presidents Committee is made up of Sherry Scoggins, Clayton, Chair; Kim Worley, Franklinton; Carmen Miracle, Jacksonville; Dolores “Dee” Hammond, Laurinburg [Retired]; Penelope “Penny” Spicer-Sidbury, Wilmington; Josann Campanello, St. James; Beverly Bigley, Indian Beach [Retired]; Lisa Vierling, High Point; Beth Hamrick, Mint Hill [Retired]; Connie Spell, Stedman [Retired]; Eva Brown, Richlands [Retired]; Gail Smith, Raleigh; Janet Anderson, Franklin; Janice Thomas, Foxfire Village [Retired]; Jean Bailey, Rocky Mount [Retired]; Mary Lou Todd, Garner [Retired]; Pat Brunell, Oak Island [Retired]; and Wanda Elks, Greenville [Retired].