Setting Our Course

Welcome New Members


The North Carolina League of Municipalities divides the State into 12 Districts by county as follows. Click each district for full list.

Region 1

District I: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Martin, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington

District II: Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Hyde, Jones, Onslow and Pamlico

District III: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover, Pender, and Sampson

Region 2

District IV: Green, Johnston, Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne, and Wilson

District V: Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Nash, Northampton and Warren

District VI: Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Durham, Granville, Orange, Person, Vance, and Wake

Region 3

District VII: Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Moore, Robeson, and Scotland

District VIII: Anson, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Richmond, Stanly, and Union

District IX: Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, and Stokes

Region 4

District X: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Iredell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin

District XI: Burke, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, McDowell, and Rutherford

District XII: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey

To learn more, visit the UNC-School of Government Web site for an alphabetical listing of North Carolina municipalities and their corresponding counties.